APA Graduate Student Prizes

Current Competition Details

The Marc Sanders Foundation has partnered with the Eastern Division of the APA to establish three annual APA graduate student prizes for the best papers in mind, metaphysics, epistemology or ethics. Prize winners will receive a monetary award of $1000 and their papers will be presented at the Eastern Division of the APA.

Applications for these prizes are to be submitted to the Eastern Division Program Committee of the APA. Details can be found on the APA Website.

Prize Winners

The following graduate students have each been awarded a $1000 prize for their papers, which will be given at the Eastern Division meeting of the APA.

2019 Winners

Matt Leonard, University of Southern California
Title: “On the Contingency and Vagueness of Where I Am”

Julius Schoenherr, University of Maryland, College Park
Title: “When Forgiveness Comes Easy”

Alison Springle, University of Pittsburgh
Title: “On What Else Perceptual Representation Could Be”

2018 Winners

Ethan Jerzak, University of California, Berkeley
Title: “Two Ways to Want?”

Rima Basu, University of Southern California
Title: “Moral Encroachment

James Kintzl, Saint Louis University
Title: “Social Interactions, Aristotelian Powers, and the Ontology of the I-You Relation”

2017 Winners

William D’Alessandro, University of Illinois at Chicago
Title: “Grounding, Dependence, and Mathematical Explanation”

John Phillips, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Title: “Doxastic Options and the Viability of Epistemic Utility Theory”

Nicholas Rimell, University of Virginia
Title: “Sex, Deception, and Will”

2016 Winners

Kevin Dorst, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Title: “A Contextualist Solution to Miner Disagreements”

Joshua Brandt, University of Toronto
Title: “Partiality’s Negative Analogue”

Matthew Shields, Georgetown University
Title: “Can Reality Be Resisted? The Limits of Haslanger’s Account of Social Construction”

2015 Winners

Brian Collins, University of Iowa
Title: “A Political Interpretation of Aristotle’s Ethics”

Kevin Houser, Indiana University–Bloomington
Title: “Empathy Re-Moralized”

Mark Makin, University of California, Irvine
Title: “Rigid/Generic Grounding and Transitivity”

Contact Us

The Marc Sanders Foundation would be happy to hear from you. Please feel free to contact us (e-mail is preferred) about any questions you might have.


Barry Lam

Copyright 2019 Marc Sanders Foundation