Previous Grants

The Foundation previously recognized and materially supported accomplished philosophers doing important original work in metaphysics.

Distinguished philosophers awarded support through the Foundation’s Research Grant Program include:

Derek Parfit

Professor of Philosophy
All Souls College, Oxford University
Fellow of the British Academy and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Title: “Is Personal Identity What Matters?”

A later version of this material was included in On What Matters (Oxford University Press, 2012.)

View PDF

Mark Johnston

Henry Putnam University Professor of Philosophy Princeton University
Title: “Hylomorphism”

A later version of this paper has been published as “Hylomorphism” in the Journal of Philosophy 103 (12), 2006, pp. 652-698.

View PDF

Jonathan Schaffer

Professor of Philosophy
Rutgers University
Title: “Monism”

A later version of this paper has been published as “Monism: The Priority of the Whole” in the Philosophical Review 119 (1), 2010, pp. 37-76.

View PDF

John Hawthorne

Waynflete Professor of Metaphysical Philosophy Magdalen College, Oxford
Title: “What Would Teleological Causation Be?”

A later version of this paper appears in John Hawthorne, Metaphysical Essays (Oxford University Press, 2006), pp. 265-83.

View PDF

Contact Us

The Marc Sanders Foundation would be happy to hear from you. Please feel free to contact us (e-mail is preferred) about any questions you might have.


Barry Lam

Copyright 2019 Marc Sanders Foundation