Julia Joráti wins Early Modern Philosophy Prize

The Marc Sanders Foundation wishes to congratulate Julia Joráti, winner of its inaugural prize in History of Early Modern Philosophy, for her paper “Leibniz’s Ontology of Force”. Julia is an assistant professor of philosophy at Ohio State University. Her paper … more

Eleonore Stump’s lecture now available online

If you missed it, you can now view the 2016 Sanders Lecture at Rugters on Vimeo. The lecture was delivered by Professor Eleonore Stump, the Robert J. Henle Professor of Philosophy at Saint Louis University, titled “The Personal God of … more

Kenneth L. Pearce wins Philosophy of Religion Prize

Congratulations to Kenneth L. Pearce, the 2016 winner of the Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion for his paper “Foundational Grounding and the Argument from Contingency”. Kenneth is Ussher Assistant Professor in Berkeley Studies at Trinity College Dublin. His paper … more

Berislav Marušić wins Sanders Book Prize

We are excited to announce that Berislav Marušić has been awarded the 2016 Sanders book prize for his book, Evidence and Agency: Norms of Belief for Promising and Resolving (Oxford University Press). Marušić explores the question of how we, as … more

Neil Sinclair wins Metaethics Prize

The Marc Sanders Foundation and Oxford Studies in Metaethics join in congratulating Neil Sinclair (Nottingham) as the winner of the Sanders Prize in Metaethics for his entry “Belief Pills and the Possibility of Moral Epistemology.” Neil’s paper will appear in … more

Alex Zakaras wins Prize in Political Philosophy

Alex Zakaras, University of Vermont, has won the 2016 Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy for his paper “Complicity and Coercion: Towards an Ethics of Political Participation.” Zakaras is Associate Professor at The University of Vermont, specializing in political philosophy and … more

Introducing Barry Lam as new Associate Director

The Marc Sanders Foundation has appointed Barry Lam as Associate Director for the Foundation, beginning 1st June 2016. He will replace the current Assistant Director, Robyn Whitaker, who leaves to take up a Faculty position in Australia. Barry is Associate … more

Andrew Bacon wins Metaphysics Prize

Congratulations to Andrew Bacon (University of Southern California) who has been awarded the 2016 Sanders Prize in Metaphysics for his paper “Relative Locations.” Read an abstract on the Metaphysics page. There were 45 entries for this year’s prize, all of … more