Harjit Singh Bhogal wins 2018 Sanders Prize in Metaphysics

Congratulations to Dr. Harjit Singh Bhogal for winning the 2018 Sanders Prize in Metaphysics for his paper, “Nomothetic Explanation and Humeanism about Laws of Nature”. Dr. Bhogal works primarily in the philosophy of science and metaphysics, and received his PhD … more

Miriam Schoenfield wins 2017 Sanders Prize in Epistemology

The Marc Sanders Foundation and Oxford Studies in Epistemology join in congratulating Miriam Schoenfield, MIT, as the winner of the Sanders Prize in Epistemology for her paper “Meditations on Beliefs Formed Arbitrarily.” An abstract and the full paper is available here.

2017 Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Mind Announced

Berislav Marusic and John Schwenkler are the winners of the 2017 Sanders Prize in the Philosophy of Mind for their essay “Intending is Believing.” More information, and abstract and copy of the paper are here.

Fabian Wendt wins Political Philosophy Prize

The Marc Sanders Foundation and Oxford Studies in Political Philosophy join in congratulating Fabian Wendt (Bielefeld University) as the winner of the 2017 Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy for his paper “Rescuing Public Justification from Public Reason Liberalism”. There were 49 papers submitted for award consideration. … more

Chris Howard Wins Metaethics Prize

The Marc Sanders Foundation and Oxford Studies in Metaethics join in congratulating Chris Howard (UNC) as the winner of the Sanders Prize in Metaethics for his entry “The Fundamentality of Fit.” Chris’s paper will appear in Oxford Studies in Metaethics, … more

Scott Dixon Wins Metaphysics Prize

The Marc Sanders Foundation wishes to congratulate Scott Dixon, the 2017 winner of the Sanders Prize in Metaphysics for his paper “Plural Slot Theory”. Scott Dixon is an Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Ashoka University. His paper will be published … more

Ethics Bowl 2017 Winners

The National High School Ethics Bowl convened April 7th-9th at UNC Chapel Hill for its fifth annual competition, bringing together twenty-four regional champions from across the country. Congratulations to this year’s winners!     (In order of rank:) North Carolina … more

David Christensen to give 2018 Sanders Lecture at Eastern APA

In conjunction with the APA, we are pleased to announce that Professor David Christensen of Brown University will give the 2017–2018 Sanders Lecture at the 2018 Eastern Division meeting in Savannah, GA. Christensen received his Ph.D. from UCLA in 1987 … more

Martin Smith Wins Public Philosophy Award

Congratulations to Martin Smith, the 2016 winner of the inaugural Sanders Prize in Public Philosophy for his paper “Why Throwing 92 Heads in a Row is Not Surprising”. Martin is a lecturer at the University of Edinburgh, specializing in epistemology, … more